Here are the kolams and rangolis in this page:
  • Triquetra
  • Yin and Yang
  • Swastika
  • Triple spiral - Triskele
  • Hexagram - Shatkona
  • The lotus
  • The conch
  • the knot of eternity
  • Celtic knot
  • the shield knot
Rangoli: Triquetra

My daughter did this.

Triquetra originally meant triangle.Used as a religious symbol by 'Pagons'.
Also believed to represent three promises of a relationshipas to

"Love,Honor and Protect."

Hope u all like this and ur comments please. Smile

Rangoli: Yin and Yang

The asian symbol of Yin and yang are considered to be of opposites forces. Yin represents feminine, eternity, dark and represents the moon and the left side of the body. Yang is its opposite and represents masculine, history, positive, light and represents both the sun and the right side of the body. This symbol is believed to date back to the 4th century B.C and has been identified with Buddhism and Taoism.

Rangoli: Swastika

The Swastika is an universal religious symbol of luck and auspiciousness. Its an equilateral cross and has its arms at right angles. This symbol was not only used in the hindu and Buddhist culture, but was also used in Jewish and the Native americans. To the native indians, the swastika signified the sun and the four arms the four seasons. The hindu version of the symbol has a dot in each quadrant.

Rangoli: Triple spiral - Triskele

Triple spiral : Triskele

Some of these symbols date back to 3000 BC and can still be seen today on stone carvings in Ireland. The triskele is an ancient celtic symbol related to the sun. Triple centered spirals were also used by the early Christian monks. The single spiral is the oldest of all and it has symbolized the concept of growth, expansion, and cosmic energy.
This spiral pattern is used a lot in kolams and rangolis.

Rangoli: Hexagram - Shatkona

The Hexagram also known as the Shatkona is the six pointed star. The symbol is made up of two triangles, one facing upwards symbolizing the male energy,and the other facing down symbolizing the female energy. This symbol also signifies the union of Shiva - a hindu god and his wife Shakthi.
This symbol is known as The Shield of David or Magen David in Hebrew and is a generally recognized symbol of Judaism.
It can be found on the flag of Israel.

Rangoli: The lotus

The lotus is one of the symbols used predominantly in the hindu culture as well as in buddism. It stands for the purity of both mind and body.

Rangoli: The conch

The right-turning conch is one of the "eight auspicious signs" in Buddhism. The conch is also the symbol of Lord Vishnu and is revered by his devotees as a sacred symbol. The conch symbols are also drawn at the deity's altar in the hindu culture. This symbol is known as the "Shankh" in India.

Rangoli: the knot of eternity

In India, people recognize this symbol in a kolam form. In other parts of the world this symbol is called the endless knot or the knot or eternity.
The endless knot: This symbol is one of the eight auspicious symbols of Buddhism. It signifies unity and purity. The endless knot has also been refered as the Mystic dragon. Fans of this symbol like to wear it as pendants, rings and charms.

Rangoli: Celtic knot

This celtic knots are expressed as knots, with lines going over and under, in crisscross pattern. They don't have dots used as grids.

Rangoli: the shield knot

The shield knot is believed to a universal symbol of protection which originated thousands of years ago.
This symbol is believed to be an ancient celtic symbol (celtic people were considered to be ancient people of Europe). It was used to ward off evil spirits. Celtic symbols were extensively used in jewelry and art and such patterns weren't derived from the nature. It is also thought to be the origin of the "Qabbalistic Cross" ritual. Some of the other names of this symbol are St.Hans cross and the Earth Square.